Four Candidates Qualify For Daytona Beach Zone 2 Election


Daytona Beach, FL - Four candidates have qualified to be on the ballot for the Daytona Beach City Commissioner Zone 2 seat.  They are, in alphabetical order, Kristine Gray, Larry McDermott, Tony Servance, and Ken Strickland. The Special Primary Municipal Election will take place on September 21, 2021.

If you'd like to register to vote in the election, you have until 5 p.m. today. Visit to get registered, request a vote-by-mail ballot, or find out more about other election matters.

 Lisa Lewis, Volusia County Supervisor of Elections, said that registered voters have until September 11, 2021, at 5 p.m. to request a mail-in ballot. "We have about 2,200 requests and they will go out in the mail. They're actually being compiled now." Lewis said that's about 30 percent of the registered voters in that zone.

If one candidate receives 50 percent of the vote plus one, they will be declared the winner. If that does not happen, the top two candidates will be on the ballot for a run-off on November 2, 2021

Voters can also obtain a sample ballot and find their Election Day polling location while at the elections website. “This may be a quick turnaround but our team is working with the
City of Daytona Beach staff for a smooth and successful Election,” said Supervisor Lewis.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here