Daytona Beach Zone 2 Special Primary Election Sept. 21


Daytona Beach, FL - This Tuesday, September 21, is Election Day for the Daytona Beach Special Primary Election for the City Commissioner Zone 2 seat. Aaron Delgado resigned and vacated his seat in August.

Delgado Resigning From Daytona Beach City Ccommission

There are four candidates on the ballot. They are, in alphabetical order, Kristine Gray, Larry McDermott, Tony Servance, and Ken Strickland. Supervisor of Elections Lisia Lewis said that if one candidate receives 50 percent of the vote plus one, they will be declared the winner. If that does not happen, the top two candidates will be on the ballot for a run-off on November 2, 2021.

Four Candidates Qualify for Daytona Beach Zone 2 Election

Lewis said there are some changes since the last election due to Senate Bill 90. The 24-hour drop box that was outside the Supervisor of Elections office has been removed.

Vote-by-mail ballots must be returned to the Supervisor of Elections office by 7 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted. Voters may still drop off voted vote-by-mail ballots to the drop box located inside at the front counter during office hours, Monday - Friday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. On Election Day, the office will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. Vote-by-mail ballots can not be dropped at polling places. You can surrender your mail-in ballot if you'd like to vote in person on the day of the election.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters are required to provide a current and valid photo and signature identification when voting in person, and must vote in the assigned location. To find the assigned location, voters are encouraged to visit While there, you may also view and print a sample ballot.

As of Friday, 2,338 vote-by-mail ballots have been mailed to voters and 652 ballots have been returned to the elections office. There was no early voting in this election.

Election night results will begin scrolling online after 7:00 p.m. These results are unofficial, until the Canvassing Board certifies the election.  For more information, visit or call 386-736-5930.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here